top of page
  • Writer's picturePDH Home Base

Returning to Tarkir: Core Set 2019



Core Set 2019, Owned by Wizards of the Coast © All Rights Reserved.

I can still remember to this day, my first ever pre-release. I had only started playing after the release of Dragons of Tarkir, with no true understanding of the game, so what Origins represented at the time meant very little to me. I couldn't understand the impact of core sets leaving would have, nor could I embrace standard from a more sturdy standpoint.

However, time has passed, things have changed, and Wizards of the Coast has concluded that the "2 set blocks" era needs to come to an end. As someone with a foot in the door for Brawl, I am glad to see this return, and hope that this fire reignites as if it had never went out.

Well, reignite it did! It has been delightful to see the value of this set, bringing life to not only a limited world, but to every other format. With new potential staples for Modern, and breathing new life to Standard, there's so much more to imagine for Commander.

There is so much to say, but I am not here to talk about everything else. It is time for me to quit stalling, and get to the good stuff. It's time to see what we have for PDH. This will be a very quick overview, as our time this week is quite limited. However, we can't go a full week without talking at least a bit. Let's dig in.

The Commanders

This set, although not introducing anything that will shake up the format, the new additions are certainly welcome. A number of new interesting choices have been added, so I would like to present my picks for the top 5 new commanders from Core Set 2019.

A few honorable mentions are added to the roster. First, Guttersnipe has received a new makeover, and I am welcoming the change. Also adding some interesting choices for tribal commanders, and the chance of brewing something yet to be seen with Suspicious Bookcase.

The Rest of the 99

I will have to admit, from a PDH perspective, very few commons caught my eye, let alone brought something. Nothing original has been introduced, but there are still great additions for supported archetypes. Take below at noteworthy additions from each color below.

 

This week is a busy one, so I am short on time to say as much as I would like. I will be sure to bring something larger next week to make up for this. With that being said, I feel most of these cards can speak for themselves. I am very much looking forward to what this return means for the future of MTG, and all formats around it. Let us know what cards you are most excited to play from Core Set 2019!

-Kyle

@PDH_Homebase

170 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page